What Do You Think?: Custom Tea Blends from Adagio Teas

Adagio Tea logo

I’d posed this question in my most recent Chronicling The Craft article, but it must have gotten lost in the shuffle. (Then again, that was a pretty substantive article. *lol*) Since I’m interested in getting feedback on this idea, I thought I’d ask the question again in a new article.

A week or so before Christmas, I discovered that Adagio Teas allows customers to create custom tea blends using a number of Adagio’s teas, then sell the blends for other tea lovers to brew at home. These custom tea lines even include fandom blends inspired by movies, books, TV shows, etc. How cool is that!

Many of you may already know that I love tea and write tea reviews for A Bibliophile’s Reverie. So, I wasn’t just excited about finding Adagio’s create-your-own-blends section. In fact, I was so ecstatic that the creative wheels started turning in my head: What if I created a line of custom tea blends to compliment my WIP when it’s released? Maybe teas that represent characters or locations in my protagonist’s world? Oooooh, I like the idea so much, I want to start experimenting with Adagio’s teas ASAP. But I also don’t want to get too far ahead of myself.

What do you think about this idea? I know not everyone drinks tea, but do you think this could be a neat promotional tool when the WIP’s released (whenever that happens)? Would you also be interested in trying the teas? Let me know what you think by commenting below.

11 thoughts on “What Do You Think?: Custom Tea Blends from Adagio Teas

  1. This sounds like a fun and enjoyable idea, Sara! Tea blends representing places and also the personalities of characters in your books. I like the idea. I’ve never tried doing something like this before, so I’m not sure how much promotion it will give your book, but it is a fun extention for your fans and readers who enjoy tea to explore. I would be interested in sampling the teas. Are you thinking of mailing out samples for people to try?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! And you’re right, it’s probably more of an extension of the novel than a promotional tool. Although, who knows? Maybe someone browsing on Adagio’s site would find the blends and be intrigued enough to not only buy the teas but check out the book? That’s less likely to happen, though.

      My first step would be to buy samples of some of Adagio’s teas that are available for blending, then do the mixing at home to make sure each one is what I’m looking for. Once I’m 100% certain of each blend, I’d be happy to mail out samples to anyone who’s interested in trying them. 😉 So, it might be a little while… but we can talk about that again when the time comes, if you’d still like to try them!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Time Flies!: February 2015 | Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

  3. Pingback: Time Flies!: March 2015 | Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

  4. Pingback: Time Flies!: April 2015 | Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

  5. Pingback: Beautiful People, Vol. 8: Gidion’s First Solo “Flight” | Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

  6. Pingback: The Thank-You Giveaway Extravaganza! | Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

  7. Pingback: Chronicling The Craft: Six Writing Lessons I Learned While Working On My WIP | Sara Letourneau's Official Website & Blog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.